Christmas

Wine Glass coasters (Christmas)

20151208_220656
Christmas Wine Glass Coasters

Christmas present number 2! These were for my mum. I saw on a blog I follow this brilliant idea for wine glass coasters. They are really cute and also very practical. I made 6 Christmas ones and it didn’t take me long at all.

 

I found the method on whatcorrinedidnext.com. It was really easy to follow, here is how I did it. I chose to use some Christmas fat quarters I had bought from John Lewis. That way I can make each one different so that you can also tell  whose wine glass is whose.

You will need:

  • Fabric
  • wadding
  • A wine glass
  • Sewing machine
  • Matching or contrasting thread
  • Pencil or tailors chalk
  • Pins
  • Iron and ironing board

How you make them

  1. Draw around wine glass on your fabric. I made the circle a little wider so it measured 10cm across to make room for the seam allowance.
  2. You will need 4 x 10cm pieces of fabric and 1 piece of wadding for each coaster. I made 6.
  3. Fold 2 of the circles in half and press along the crease.
  4. place one circle right side down then place a piece of wadding, then another piece of fabric right side up and then the two half circles right sides down and pin in place.
  5. I made each one different with a different bottom to top and couple with two different half circles. just to spice things up.
  6. Now stitch around the coaster 5mm from the edge. Make sure you catch all the wadding and fabric edges through all the layers.
  7. Turn you coaster the right way.
  8. All done!

Mine are pretty basic but I am going to make some non – Christmas ones and may add some details such as ribbon, buttons or what ever I can find.

Hope you like them!

And thanks Corrine for the inspiration – My mum loved them and I must admit I was really proud of them!

2 thoughts on “Wine Glass coasters (Christmas)

Leave a Reply

